North Central All-Hazards Region


The North Central All-Hazards Emergency Management Region (NCR) is one of nine emergency preparedness and response Regions within the State of Colorado. The NCR is organized around ten counties (and their cities, districts, towns and municipalities):

  • Adams County
  • Arapahoe County
  • Boulder County
  • Broomfield County
  • Clear Creek County
  • Denver County
  • Douglas County
  • Elbert County
  • Gilpin County
  • Jefferson County


Prior to September 11th, Colorado's primary response capability was at the city and county level. In August 2002, Governor Owens announced the establishment of seven regions to support this response capability. These seven regions were later expanded to nine as part of the continuing effort to coordinate our response and foster the development of professional relationships. Governor Owens' Executive Order in July of 2003 designated each region as an All-Hazards Emergency Management Region.

Aside from the immediate benefit of neighbor helping neighbor, other benefits include coordinated all-hazards planning, training, and exercise efforts. Additionally, formation of the regions has initiated a standardization of equipment and a more efficient use of available limited funding and resources. The NCR is responsible for managing the State Homeland Security Grant Program.


The NCR is comprised of a wide variety and diverse type of jurisdictions including mountainous, urban and rural communities. Effective integration of functional areas is accomplished through a collaborative, multi-functional approach to planning and analysis. The wide range of functional areas are represented within the region include:

  • Emergency Management
  • Law Enforcement
  • Fire Services
  • Special Districts
  • Public Health
  • Emergency Medical Services
  • Hospital Organizations
  • Coroner's Offices
  • Public Works
  • Regional Transport
  • Financial Services


The NCR has a strong partnership with:

  • Denver Urban Area Security Initiative (UASI)
  • Red Cross
  • Foothills Regional Emergency Medical & Trauma Advisory Council (RETAC)
  • Mile High RETAC

Although the NCR and UASI have different governing structures, many of the committees are joint committees and work in an integrated, collaborative method.

The NCR has been an inclusive organization from its inception and is always willing to bring in new partners and encourage lasting, beneficial relationships. Please contact any of the NCR staff with questions or to get involved in regional preparedness activities.

View Executive Order